Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Print
Hubbards and feeding (Read 930 times)
jellykelly

I love Practical Poultry!

Folkestone
Hubbards and feeding
Aug 21st, 2010 at 6:03pm

I've got some hubbards in the incy. Only two are due to hatch next friday-ish with and another 12 due beginning of september. This is my first time hatching table birds and I need a bit of advice as to what to feed and for how long.

Is it..... chick crumbs for only two weeks and then onto growers?
Also, when raising birds for the table can you use medicated crumb and pellets or is this a no no?

Thanks in advance

IP Logged

Rockchick
Sinbinner

Nr Doncaster
Re: Hubbards and feeding
Reply #1 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:40am

I used medicated feed and I've been worming every 4 weeks.  I've only grown Ross/Cobbs so I don't know about when you should move Hubbards on from chick crumb to growers but I normally move them on to growers when they are getting big and flabby on the chick crumb.   I then move them on to layers at 5 weeks to stop them going off their legs and *touch wood* I've not had that problem yet.    I think they were 8 weeks when we moved them on to finishers pellets - a bit more expensive but worth doing as it seems to enhance the flavour of the meat. 

For the best flavour meat give them as much weeds and greens as you can - it really makes a difference.

IP Logged

jellykelly

Folkestone
Reply #2 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 8:50am

Thankyou very much for the advice. I've seen the finishing pellets but never paid much attention as to when or what to use them for.
I'm very much looking forward to seeing how the table birds taste. I certainly don't intend on going back to shop brought chicken so it will be a case of finding the breed with the best taste.

I looked into Ross/cobbs before purchasing the hubbards eggs but couldn't find any. May I ask where you source yours from please?

IP Logged

Rockchick
Sinbinner

Nr Doncaster
Reply #3 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 3:36pm